The Cancer Institute (WIA) was recognized as early as 1965 by the University on Madras for the Ph.D and D.Sc degrees in the areas of Clinical Research, Biochemical Oncology and Nuclear Medical Oncology.

In 1966, the kerala University recognized the Institute for Ph.D in the same subjects.

Medical Physics was recognized in 1975 by the Kerala University, in 1978 by the Madras University and in 1981 by the Anna University and University of Madras for the Ph.D degree.

The Anna University also introduced the M.Sc course in Medical Physics cojointly with Cancer Institute in the same year - the first one in India.

Tumour Micro Biology was recognized in 1976 for the Ph.D Molecular Oncology was recognized for the Ph.D by the University of Madras, the Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R and Anna University in 1997.

80 Candidates have taken their Doctorates so far. The break up is as below

1. Tumour Microbiology 23
2. Biochemistry 20
3. Radiation Chemistry 10
4. Medical Physics 14
5. Molecular Oncology 8
6. Cytogenetics 2
7. Clinical Oncology including Tumour Biostastics 3

Most of them, especially the Biochemists and Tumour Biologists, have migrated mainly to the USA, where they have found ready placements.

The college of Oncological at the Cancer Institute (WIA) was established in 1984 immediately after the introduction of Super-Speciality courses M.Ch and DM as a specialized degree recognized by the Medical Council of India, the first of its kind in the country. The affiliation was transferred to the Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University on its founding in 1990.

The Cancer Institute (WIA) is now recognized for the following degress:

Surgical Oncology M.Ch The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University
Medical Oncology D.M The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University
Radiotherapy MD & DMRT The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University
Onco-Radiology & Nuclear Medicine Fellowship The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University
Psycho Oncology M.Phil & Ph.D University of Madras
Radiotherapy Technology B.Sc The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University
Nuclear Medicine B.Sc The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R Medical University
Medical Physics M.Sc Cojointly with Anna University